Tastycake?

It’s difficult re-assimilating into the American culture. Not that I wish to complain, as I do love America, as well as my family and friends back here, but from that first walk through the airport I noticed drastic differences.

People are rude. And I’ve already gotten confirmation of this from others who have traveled abroad so I’m pretty sure it’s not just me. But people don’t pay attention to where they are, or who is around them.

The food. Wow, the food. I ate my last real Japanese food at the Narita airport in Tokyo. Shrimp tempura, delicious! But now…well. I walked into our local convenience store with my mom. She wanted coffee, I wanted hot chocolate. I passed by the small aisles of sandwiches and snacks and tastycakes and couldn’t help but thinking just how unappetizing everything looked. It seemed liked such a shame too cause I would have loved this food a few short months ago. But now, I could barely look at it.

Granted, some things, though, are actually pretty easy to assimilate back into. I no loner have to struggle reading signs everywhere (on the road, in stores) or strain to catch words of people’s conversations. I can understand everything around me, recognize people’s accents (Japanese accents—dialects—are a bit harder to distinguish as I’m not as familiar with the language). It’s both weird and slightly comforting to know that if I get lost somewhere I can easily find my way back as there’s no more of the language barrier.

However, I do miss getting lost in Japan. And I did that so very often. ☺

It’s only been a few weeks since I’ve been back, and I’m sure the others who joined me on the trip would agree, I wish I could go back. I would love to spend another semester in Japan, visiting places and people, and taking more of an advantage of being in another country and it might be quite a bit of time before I return there.

I guarantee we will all look for other ways to return to Japan, whether it be next year or in a few years from now, I’m sure we will all return someday.

